Turkey Dinner – Noah style

Turkey dinners have a few basic requirements:
Turkey
Gravy
Mashed potatoes
Rolls
Corn

Turkey is pretty straight forward. I just have to read the label to make sure that the “solution” does not contain any wheat. I haven’t found any that contain wheat, but you never know what food companies will do.

Gravy? I throw out the gravy packet that comes with the turkey.While it tastes wonderful, it contains wheat. I learned to make my own gravy. I used to think making gravy was really difficult. It’s not that bad! It just takes some patience and attention. I follow Simply Recipes gravy instructions, except I substitute tapioca starch for the corn starch.

Honestly, side dishes are the most challenging part of a grain-free diet for me. Rolls are definitely out. At first glance, mashed potatoes are out. Then I remembered seeing recipes for faux mashed potatoes using cauliflower instead of potatoes. This idea always repulsed me, but we’ve been working hard on having everyone eat the same meal. I was stuck on side dishes, so I decided to give it a try. First, it was much easier than I anticipated! Steam cauliflower until tender. Toss it in a food processor with some salt, pepper, garlic, and a few tablespoons of butter. Blend until creamy. That’s it! As for my “potatoes”, the texture was similar to mashed potatoes. Perhaps a bit more liquidy, like when you put too much milk in mashed potatoes. The taste is a bit different from mashed potatoes, but not awful, especially with gravy. I think I could get used to it. Anna and Noah both enjoyed them. Ethan tried them but was not a fan.

Corn is currently out for us, so I just picked a different vegetable side dish. Rabbits ate our carrot tops, so I’ve been pulling up our baby-size carrots. They taste great! Earlier this week I tried Roasted Cumin Lime Carrots. They looked just like the photo, which was exciting, but we did not like the combination of flavors. So this time I simply roasted them with oil, salt, and pepper. Much better results!
(Confession: I also roasted a few chopped beets from our garden. It was our first time eating beets. The kids said beets are okay, but not very good.)
Turkey, gravy, mashed cauliflower, and roasted beets and carrots. Works for us! I was going to offer peaches to fill out the meal more, but the kids were eating the veggies great on their own!

Leave a Reply

