Cupcakes Out of Air

Two birthday parties in one weekend. Child #3 in the midst of a severe digestive reaction to something. It looks to be either dairy or nuts. This means I need to create cupcakes with no grains, no eggs, no dairy, and no nuts. I also prefer to avoid refined sugar.

Thankfully we live in the age of Google. Seriously, I do not know how I would feed my kids without Google.

Google didn’t give me too many options, so I moved on to searching for muffin recipes. A muffin with chocolate chips  in it and frosting on top counts as a cupcake, right?

Grain-free, Egg-free Banana Bread Muffins

One small problem: I couldn’t use almond flour. Thankfully, I had read about using sun-flour in place of almond flour, so I  followed the instructions to make it.

I also subbed coconut milk for the buttermilk. If we’re going all out, I figured I might as well sub honey for the brown sugar.

Come to think of it, I accidentally doubled the honey.

Is double the amount of honey actually any better than the regular amount of brown sugar? Who knows. These are the things that keep me up at night.

Clearly I do not expect anyone to replicate this. I just thought I’d share a bit of this crazy life.

So the boys happily ate cupcakes at a birthday party today. Mission accomplished.

photo (1)

(Frosting: Powdered sugar, coconut milk, and cocoa. I discovered that powdered sugar contains corn starch, so I need to find a grain-free substitute.)

One thought on “Cupcakes Out of Air

Leave a Reply

